Maple Blondies | Fall


Earlier this month Hurricane Sandy swept through the east coast leaving people and their homes devastated. Admittedly I was not in one of the worst areas during the hurricane, but I was definitely affected by it. My heart goes out to those who lost everything because of the hurricane. I only lost power for a week, and it was hard enough living that way, I can’t even fathom what others are going through.

In the end, this experience left me with many things to be thankful this thanksgiving. That includes my parents, my sister, my friends, my home…I suppose I could go on, but I’ll sum it up into one sentence: I’m thankful that I have everything and everyone that I need in my life. Quite honestly, not many are as fortunate as me, and even though I do complain frequently  and face problems, I only deal with a fraction of what others have to go through in life.

I know this post is a little early for a thanks giving post, but this was the only time I could do it, and I’m trying to keep posting frequently! So, dear readers: Happy thanksgiving, I hope you have a wonderful meal with your family and your friends :)

For this post I baked these maple blondies, and quite frankly, I am in love with maple flavored anything right now! It’s just such a wonderful flavor to enjoy during the fall, and I’ve been trying to put maple syrup in or on literally everything. I think I may be a little ridiculous, but it’s just so delicious. These blondies are very sweet, however, not heavy, because the texture is much lighter, so in the end it all balances out.

Maple Blondies

Adapted from Southern Lady Magazine via Baked Bree

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 10 Tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon maple flavoring
  • optional: 1 cup pecan or walnut pieces [ I didn't include any in the blondies I made in the picture, because I was making these for someone with a nut allergy, however I highly reccommend putting in nuts if you like them :) ]

Instructions

  1. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl & set aside.
  2. In another, whisk together the butter, brown sugar, and maple syrup, until well mixed.
  3. Add the eggs, and the two flavorings, and whisk until combined.
  4. Add a half cup of the dry ingredients to the wet and blend until combined
  5. Repeat step five, until you’ve added all of the dry ingredients to the wet.
  6. If you are adding nuts, stir them in now.
  7. Spread into a 9×13 pan that has been coated with cooking spray.
  8. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy & happy thanksgiving!

Deepshikha :)

3 thoughts on “Maple Blondies | Fall

Leave a Reply

