Coffee & Cold

I don’t know if it’s just me, but the past few days have felt at least ninety degrees to me. But every time I check the weather channel or my thermometer it tells me it’s only eighty degrees. I wonder what it’ll feel like when it is ninety degrees…that won’t be fun at all…

But any way during those days, I’ve been cooling off, with a variety of ice creams(cookies n’ cream, coffee chocolate chip<yummm!!!>, and chocolate), sorbets(mostly strawberry, mango, and chocolate), and some home-made coffee granita(one of the many types of frozen desserts out in the world). Its a fairly simple recipe, and definitely not for those who like all things fancyschmancy. I served it to my father and he turned up his nose, and said, “I don’t eat plain ice.”

I suppose you could say a granita is really similar to your average sno cone, but I prefer saying granita(a: it confuses people and is quite amusing, b: it sounds fancy).

Here’s the recipe:

Coffee Granita

adapted from Not Without Salt blog by Ashley Rodriguez

1 and 1/2 cups of brewed espresso(you could add in some cream or milk, depending on your tastes)

3 cups of water

1 cup of sugar

a pinch of salt(literally, you don’t want any more than a pinch)

Okay, so first brew your coffee, and then mix it with the sugar and salt until the sugar n’ salt dissolves completely then put in a tray, nothing too deep (9 x 13 x 2 is good), and stick it in the freezer, and in approximately an hour(or if you’re feeling particularly impatient like me go every half hour)go and check back on it. If it isn’t semi frozen check back in another half an hour, if it is semi frozen(as in it’s mostly frozen with a itty bitty bit of bit of liquid) grab a fork and start scraping, and until there’s no solid chunks, and then stick it back in the freezer for another buncha minutes until there’s no liquid(although there will be a teeny tiny bit).

Tada! It’s just that simple!

Now just scoop into a dish of choice(mine was a martini glass, ’cause I just think they’re super awesome), and eat!

Bon Apetit!

~D.D

Leave a Reply

