Photogenic Apples & A Crumbly

Nowadays, I’m spending a lot of time going through a variety of food blogs and wondering the same question over and over as i read each post: How the heck are they writing so much??? And it’s not like they’re taking up most of the post with the recipe for the food they happen to be talking about, instead there’s one little link at the very bottom. My posts are approximately a small paragraph with a bunch of pictures and a recipes which is pretty much seventy five percent of the post. The other twenty-five percent are divided between pictures(fifteen percent or so) and my own talking(five percent).

And also, I have learned that apples are excellent picture subjects!

Yeah, it’s kind of random, but I was making apple crumbly(as you see in the post), and taking random pictures for this post so…

But now to apple crumbly: I suppose this is a bit different from my other posts, mostly because it’s somewhat healthier. I think a cup of this should be only about four hundred calories…which I think is not that bad…for a desert at least…

What do you think is a good amount of calories for a desert?

So here we go with the recipe:

Apple Crumbly

(adapted from original recipe(which’s source I can’t recall))

  • 1 and 1/3 a cup of flour
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of salt
  • 6 tablespoons & 1 tablespoon+1 tspn of light brown sugar(keep these separated
  • 3 tablespoons of butter unsalted
  • 2 & 1/2tablespoons of toasted almonds sliced or slivered(I usually buy these, because trying to cut almonds annoys me)
  • 2 granny smith apples
  • 2 golden delicious apples
  • 2 tablespoons of raisins
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 6 cloves, ground

Okay, so now roast the almonds, and put them to the side.

Then, take the raisins and put them in steaming hot water and let them soak there, and putting that to the side too.

Preheat your oven to 350.

Now take the six tablespoons of sugar & the salt & flour and mix them together, then chop the butter(all of it) up into chunks the size of your finger tips and add that to the mixture of sugar, salt & flour. Now using your fingers sort of blending it into the mixture until the whole thing looks bread crummy-ish.

Then simply mix in the almonds. It should look like that down there.

And if it does, great! You’ve finished with the crumbly part, now for the apples…

Take your four apples(remember two granny smith, two golden delicious), and peel and cut them into chunks approximately the size of your thumbs finger tip.

This was a pain since I really suck at peeling apples :( No, i don’t go slice up my fingers trying to peel these, but I’m just really slow. Really, really slow.

My work station:

Now take the apples and add them in a different large bowl and take the raisins, drain them, and add them in to the bowl apples along with the sugar, cinnamon, and cloves. Now mix that up( I just use my hand and toss them around). Keep mixing until theres a bit of juice spread around in the bowl. Then grab a pan(I use and reccomend a 9×11 1/2 one) or you can use individual ramekins(I usually use ones the size of my palm), and spray the insides with non stick cooking spray, and pour the apples into the pan spreading it out evenly. Then on top of that spread the crumble part evenly and put that in the oven. Take it out when the top is a golden brown color…well the color kinda got whitened out here…

And now simply scoop and serve!

Hope you enjoy!

~D.D.

2 thoughts on “Photogenic Apples & A Crumbly

Leave a Reply

