Mocha Pots de Creme | Later

As a little child, I always knew definitely what I was going to be. If you asked me, I’d give a definite answer. A doctor. A scientist. An astronaut. A writer. But as I grew up the that changed. I became more focused on what was here in front of me, and didn’t bother thinking about the future. And now when I’m so close to time to decide, I have no idea. My parents friends always ask me, and every time I reply, “I’m not quite sure yet…”

Now that it’s winter break and I actually have time to sit down, and think about it and well…I still don’t know what I want to do.


So I asked a close friend what she thought I should do. She replied, “Do what you like to do best.”

So I sat there and I thought about it for a moment. I liked to do a lot of things. Bake. Write. Swim. Read. The list seemed to go and on. But what did I like to do most? It came down to baking and writing. You may be thinking, Wait, Dee. Writing? Are you sure you want to do that? I know I’m not that great of a writer on here. I’m actually more of a creative writer, not so much an informative one.

Although I don’t know where I would go with creative writing. So that narrowed it down to baking. I actually would love to open up a cutesy little bakery of my own. A small bakery, like Crumbs and Magnolia and just as cute.

But yet, I’m still not sure, and probably won’t be sure till the last minute.

But to take my mind off that I baked something. When taking a bite of what I baked, you first find the most obvious flavor first: a rich coffee flavor, creamy and delicious. Then if you wait a second, you’ll find the briefest flash of a chocolate flavor. It’s amazing.

I present to you: Mocha pots de crème.

Mocha Pots De Crème

Adapted from Real Kitchen via Whisk Kid

1 1/2 c heavy cream
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 c whole black coffee beans (I replaced that with instant coffee powder, and put in a little more than 1/8 a cup of that)
3 egg yolks
1/4 c  sugar
1 1/2 Tbls brewed espresso coffee, cold
1 oz (28 g) semisweet chocolate, melted and cooled

1.    Preheat your oven to 325 degrees farenheit.

2.    In a small saucepan, bring the heavy cream vanilla and coffee beans to a brief simmer in a small saucepan. Don’t let it boil. Then strain the mixture to take out the coffee beans.

3.     Meanwhile…Whisk together the sugar and egg yolks until the egg yolk lighten and become lemony in color and the sugar is dissolved. Then pour in the heavy cream mixture slowly, whisking continuously or else the mixture will curdle.

4.    Stir in the coffee and chocolate.

5.    Pour the mixture into ramekins, and put them in a shallow baking pan with water that goes halfway up the ramekin.

6.    Bake until just the center is slightly jiggles a little. If you make them in ramekins that are approximately eight ounces then the baking time sound be around a half an hour.

7.    After they’re done let the ramekins cool a little for approximately ten minutes them chill them in the refrigerator for two hours(at the least).

~Dee D.

15 thoughts on “Mocha Pots de Creme | Later

  1. Sheena says:

    My decision for uni was absolutely last minute as well, I spent my entire final year just wondering what to do, but at the end I’m sure you’ll be able to figure it out.
    The pots de creme look so wonderfully creamy, and I love the combination of chocolate and coffee!

  2. Gen says:

    I like your pots de creme! And it’s pretty normal to hesitate before choosing a career (and while studying as well!) Ask yourself what you like, what you could do everyday in order to make a living. But don’t worry, you’ll find your way, you’ve got talent.

  3. Lauren says:

    Love the pots de creme – they look fabulous. As for choosing a direction, I think for most people they are never truly certain in what they want to do. When I left highschool I was dead set on doing Maths, I ended up switching to Computing and I now work in that field.

    However every so often I wish I had studied History, which was always my passion, despite the fact that jobs are few and far between.

  4. Quay Po Cooks says:

    What a great recipes and pictures you have there. You are doing the right thing to take time to think carefully what you want to do. I wish you can do something that love and at the same time give financial stability. Do not make the mistake of going into something that you were told to, do something that you want to.:D

  5. tiffany says:

    Thanks for sharing your story! I am in a similar situation… I think I have decided on my next endeavor, but I’m not so ready to announce it on the Internet :D P.S…These Pots de Creme look amazing!

  6. Navya says:

    The Pots de Creme looks amazing! Oh what I would do to curl up with a good book and some of it and not worry about anything… I’m sure you’ll figure out what you want to do later on. Nobody is forcing you to choose now. :)

  7. Stella says:

    Oh, your post takes me back to when I was trying to figure out what path to choose! Everyone always says “do what you love!” As someone on the far side of that decision, let me encourage you to investigate the sustainability of those choices too. No one ever asked me, “do you know if you can earn a living doing what you love?” or “how can you turn what you love into a living?” I love my job, I love baking and playing with sugar all day, and let’s just say…it’s a good thing I’m not in it for the money, lol!

Leave a Reply

