“Not So Nutella” Brownies | A Craving

I woke up on valentines day with my ears still ringing from my alarm and a utter craving for something chocolaty and baked. The simple answer to that craving? Chocolate cake. But then again it was five thirty and in the morning and the possibility getting any chocolate cake was near impossible, so I rushed off getting myself ready for school, and for the whole week kept this chocolate craving at bay.

Finally on Thursday, I had time. We had a four day weekend ahead, which meant a lot of time to bake, do home work and anything else I fancied at that moment.

After I got off the bus that afternoon, I walked up the icy driveway, fiddling the the worn edges of my scarf and trying to remember where I had kept my go-to chocolate cake recipe. I was quite sure I had either stashed it in one of my desks drawers or I had book marked it. I rushed into the house, pulled off my coat, and scarf and dashed into the study.

After a frustrating ten of searching through dozens of recipes, papers, and a menagerie of my sisters art utensils with no results, I finally set off to sort through my book marks, a scarier prospect, considering I had hundreds of recipes bookmarked. I went through at least two dozen links before finding some: a recipe for Nutella brownies.

I love nutella, and I love brownies, and then finding these two combined while having a craving for something chocolate and baked? It was like finding gold.

With much zest I scribbled down the recipe and rushed off to the kitchen to bake them. A jar of nutella and fifteen minutes later, I had these in the oven. Another half an hour later I had these out of the oven, with one excited sister watching them like a hawk.

After they cooled, I cut into them, and finally tried one. But I was slightly dissapointed. They tasted excellent. But not like nutella, just like really good brownies. The hazelnut taste seemed to have completely vanished and all was left was the chocolate taste.

My sister insisted they did taste a little like nutella but I didn’t see it at all.

You’re probably wondering why I bothered sharing this recipe with you even though it was a dissapointment.

Well, because: Even though they didn’t taste like Nutella they tasted rich and chocolaty, and have the most amazing crinkly  crust on top(which you  saw in the pictures above) with a perfect dense, fudge-y inside, which is my vision of a perfect brownie.

Take a closer look at the inside:

Doesn’t it look absolutely and completely moist and delicious?

“Nutella” Brownies

Adapted From: ricardocuisine.com

  • 1/2 a cup of all-purpose flour(unbleached)
  • 1/4 a tsp of salt
  • 1/2 a cup of butter(melted and cooled slightly)
  • 1 1/3 a cup of nutella
  • 1/2 a cup of brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs(large)
  1. Preheat the oven to 325 F.
  2. Sift together the salt and the flour in a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Then in a different bowl, beat the nutella, brown sugar, vanilla extract and eggs together until completely smooth.
  4. Then add one third of the flour mixture and one third of the butter to the nutella mixture and blend until smooth.
  5. Repeat step three until all the flour and butter is used up.
  6. Pour the batter into a eight by eight baking pan lined with either foil or parchment paper.
  7. Bake until you can put a tooth pick and it comes out with only a couple of crumbs.
  8. Cool for a hour, and then cut and enjoy :)

~Dee D.

14 thoughts on ““Not So Nutella” Brownies | A Craving

  1. Sheena says:

    Trying to find recipes always is a long search for me too, I just have a messy folder with clippings in it. These brownies look amazing, and even though the nutella flavour wasn’t that strong they look so fudgey and moist, love it!

  2. Sabine says:

    I had the same results with Nutella brownies: a rich, beautiful brownie, with a weak taste of Nutella. Weirdly enough, they were some of the best brownies I’ve ever made!

    • tiedwithblue says:

      I had already added extra, and I was afraid i would ruin the texture of the brownies! I’m glad I stopped, because while these didn’t taste like nutella, I really loved how perfectly dense they were at the end :)

  3. Darlene S says:

    sticking the tooth pick in the brownie mix and it comes out with a few crumbs isn’t a very good timing. One, what do you do when you don’t have a tooth pick handy?

    • tiedwithblue says:

      It is good timing for these brownies. It basically means that brownies are cooked enough to be solid & forming crumbs, but still moist enough to have great texture. You can use a knife, or a skewer if you want instead of a tooth pick.

Leave a Reply

