Almond Cookies | A Tradition

January has passed by in rushed afternoons, studying as the sun crept down the sky. I missed having time to relax, read, or even to bake. As you can see baking hasn’t quite been in my schedule as of late, and I started to miss spending afternoons stirring up ingredients, feeling the warmth of the oven against my face, and biting into my creations just as they came out of the oven. Finally after weekends of studying relentlessly, I finally found myself an hour of time.

With this extra time, I made these familiar little cookies. I grew up with them, watching my mother bake them at nearly every special occasion, however I never quite liked them, or appreciated them. Soon, my family’s life became a lot busier, and my mother stopped baking the cookies for a while and the tradition was forgotten.

But only for a while.

A couple of months ago, in December I had to complete a school project about my family’s traditions, and the very first thing I thought of were these little cookies. I did not have much time that particular weekend, and my mom was more familiar with the recipe, so I asked her to make them for me. When I finally bit into one I realized how much I had missed my mother’s cookies, and remade them for my family.

Almond Cookies

  • 16 tablespoons butter at room temperature (I used browned butter, but that’s purely optional)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup of ground almonds
  1. Toast the almonds until golden brown.
  2. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and the brown sugar together until fluffy, then add in the egg yolk, oil and vanilla, and mix well.
  4. Add a half a cup of flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix in well.
  5. Repeat step three until all of the flour mixture is mixed in.
  6. Add the almonds to the mixture, and mix in well. Scoop 1/2 a table-spoon for each cookie and roll them into a ball and space them out on a cookie sheet evenly.
  7. bake at 350 degrees farenheit for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.
2 thoughts on “Almond Cookies | A Tradition

  1. Yi @ Yi Resevation says:

    i didn’t grow up with these delicious cookies but i’ve been obsessed with them ever since I met them. Your homemade cookies look absolutely amazing. Thanks for sharing your family tradition.

Leave a Reply

