Daring Bakers | Apple Crostata

I don’t know why, but I always have the urge to make things that sound fancy, exotic and or french. Souffle? Creme Brulee? Tiramisu? Petit Fours? All of those are a result of this strange urge that I have.

And so, when I saw this month’s daring bakers I was immediately intrigued. Crostata? It sounded pretty exotic to me, and looked like a cross between pie and a tart, two things which i love. Immediately i started making the dough for thepasta frolla(the crust dough), mixing and kneading away happily. Then after I finished with that and put the dough in for a two hours, and decided to think up fillings. I started out wanting to make a creamy thick filling, so then i was thinking of a variety of pastry creams. Then I saw 3 perfect little apples sitting on the counter top, that stood out starkly due to their beautiful  golden and scarlet hues.

And obviously, those beautiful apples are what i used for this crostata, and it came out delicious, and very seasonally appropriate.

The 2010 November Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Simona of briciole. She chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ to make pasta frolla for a crostata. She used her own experience as a source, as well as information from Pellegrino Artusi’s Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well.

Oh, and happy late thanksgiving all!

I hope you had awesome thanksgivings and I hope you stuffed yourself like crazy :)

Apple Crostata

For the pasta frolla:

  • 3/4 a scant cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 3/4 a cup of all purpose unbleached flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 stick(eight tablespoons) of cold grated butter(take the stick of butter out of the fridge cold and grate it using the larger holed side of a grater and then place it in the fridge again for ten minutes)
  • the lemon zest of half a lemon
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon(you can tweak this a bit, i just kept adding a little by little until i thought i would taste good, only problem was i didn’t know how much so i’d say approx. that)
  • 1 large egg beaten lightly
  1. Whisk together the powdered sugar, flour and salt.
  2. add in the butter, and rub or cut the butter using a pastry cutter in to the flour mixture until like course bread crumbs.
  3. make a little indentation in the bread crummy mixture and pour in the egg(remember to save a teaspoon to glaze the dough later when it’s being baked)
  4. Add the zest into the little indentation, and mix it all together.
  5. You will now have dough, that you want to knead it until it comes together in a ball. Then shape it into a circle and refrigerate wrapped in plastic wrap it for the minimum of 2 hours or over night.
  6. two hours take the dough out and roll it out between two pieces of plastic wrap until it’s 5 mm thick, take off one side of the plastic and flip it over onto the dish that you’ll be baking it in. Delicately press the dough in to  fit the pan, and cut off any excess dough hanging over the edges of the dish and press it into the sides and middle.
  7. Take a fork, and stab the bottom with it in several places(to let any air from air bubbles escape)
  8. Make the filling(recipe below) and put the apples in however you like it. I staggered the apples in rows since my crostata was squared shaped, and there was two layers( i used an 8×8 pan).
  9. Glaze whatever crust is exposed with that saved 1 teaspoon of egg.
  10. bake at 375 degrees until the crust is golden.

Apple filling

  • 3 small apples peeled, cut in half and then cut again into thin 2 mm slices
  • 1/3 a cup of brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp of sugar (adjust this to your tastes)

Mix this all together in a bowl.

Tastes great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream :)

and one last thing:

My late thanksgiving list:

I’m thankful for

  • My adorable and sweet little sister.
  • My  loving parents.
  • My amazing and slightly eccentric friends.
  • My awesome food blogger friends, Adriana, Jeannie and Sheena.
  • For living the way I’m living.

~Dee D.

19 thoughts on “Daring Bakers | Apple Crostata

  1. Sheena says:

    French foods do have a certain appeal don’t they? I love your crostata, apples baked with brown sugar, yum!

    And even though we don’t celebrate thanksgiving here, I’m thankful to count you as one of my food blogger friends too :)

  2. bittersweetbaker says:

    Your crostata is beautiful Dee! It makes me wish I had made something with apples.

    I also have a similar appeal to all foods French! It must be because they seem so complicated to make, but aren’t so in reality.

    I had so much fun talking to you yesterday, and I’m so thankful for wonderful blogger friends such as yourself as well. :) I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  3. Audax Artifex says:

    Your apple layers are so perfect and the final crostata looks so gorgeous well done on this challenge I love how you used what was to hand for the recipe.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  4. Andrea says:

    This looks delish! I love apple pie, your crostata is just the kind of thing I crave at this time of year. Your photography is amazing the apple pic is simply beautiful

Leave a Reply

