Blondies | Hello Spring

I love spring, its one of the most beautiful seasons, with birds coming out of hibernation, flowers blooming, and the very best part: more sunlight.

The lack of sunlight is one of the biggest reasons I despise winter. The sun used to set at five everyday, and even then it was so drab and depressing because the sun almost never came out from the clouds…but now a five, the sun is still out shedding its vibrant rays of sunshine upon us.

I would say flowers are my very favorite part, however I have ridiculous pollen allergies…although I’m not experiencing  the allergies that badly this year, the occasional sneezing fits…well they’re not fun.

I remember back in first grade where they used to be truly horrible, that one day in class my teacher took pity on me, and let me be teacher for half a day, because she felt bad for me. She even colored my project in for me. I loved that day, and i still do :)

But even with that I still think spring is wonderful. And to celebrate I baked some of my favorite baked goods: Blondies.

I really love blondies. In fact I love them more than brownies!

Just because I’ve encountered a lot of confusion when I’ve mentioned blondies, I ‘ll explain what they are: Like chocolate cake is the opposite to vanilla cake, the opposite to brownies, are blondies! Where brownies depend upon chocolate to flavor it, blondies depend on butterscotch like flavor. Both have the same density(between a cake and fudge), its simply their flavoring that differentiates them.

They are amazing, so buttery and lighter in taste than brownies, which are rich and somewhat heavy tasting.

Blondies

Adapted from Whipped 

  • 1 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. & 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • any extra toppings that you want such as nuts or chocolate chips and such.
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees farenheit.
  2. Line an 8 inch baking pan with baking parchment, or aluminum foil.
  3. Sift together flour baking powder and salt into small bowl. Set aside.
  4. In a medium saucepan melt the butter down, and cook until it starts looking brown and smells nutty.
  5. Add the brown sugar, and continue to cook until this darkens slightlfy, smells like butterscotch and the sugar is fully melted down. *If the sugar for some reason isn’t melting, which has happened to me sometimes, remove it from heat and put it in a medium sized bowl letting it cool for two minutes, then add in the eggwhisking the whole time. If you stop whisking the eggs will scramble. If the sugar starts chunking up its okay! Mix as much as you can until the bottom of the bowl feels very mildly warm to the touch, then grab a sieve, and drain the what ever liquid-y parts you have in to a small bowl and reserve that. Grab your food processor, and put the chunky sugar parts in the sieve into the food processor and blend until it is no longer chunky, then put this back in the medium sized bowl that you started with, and add that liquid part that you had reserved. Stir in the vanilla.* How ever if your sugar did properly melt down, remove it from heat, stir it a little with a wooden spoon until cool down a little for approx 4 mins. Then add in the eggs and the vanilla mixing constantly.
  6. Stir in the flour mixture, and any additional toppings that you chose, spoon the batter into the baking pan, and spread it evenly.
  7. Bake until the center of the batter seems set(approx 20-25 mins)
  8. After taking it out, let it cool completely, then remove the baking parchment or aluminum foil, cut and enjoy! :)

~Dee D.

20 thoughts on “Blondies | Hello Spring

  1. Gen says:

    Oh love spring and its flowers too! Seems like we were on hibernation and now bake to life! The blondie looks really good! But I thought blondies were made of white chocolate, I guess I was wrong.

  2. Kankana says:

    I never knew Blondie has such simple ingredients! They looks perfectly made and those pictures of flowers are just too beautiful .. aaahhh Spring :)

  3. Sheena says:

    I’ve still never tried blondies before, you’ve definitely swayed me more with the butterscotch flavour. I love your photos of the flowers too, they’re all so beautiful, Dee!

  4. Autumn says:

    Oh, this looks so yummy! I really hope you start doing step-by-step photos, it would help me so much! Especially because I want to try them all! :D

  5. Tanvi says:

    I never baked blondies though Love them..Thanks for the easy recipe.Pictures of spring are gorgeous! Have a nice rest of the week!

  6. Von says:

    I like spring :) And autumn….because they’re not too hot and not too cold (most of the time) :D I have bad pollen allergies too, though I’m pretty sure they’re not as bad as yours *sigh*

    So THAT’S why they’re called blondies! :) I always wondered why….I never really saw the link between brownies and blondies :D They look delicious!

  7. yummy supper says:

    Happy Spring to you as well! Beautiful flowers! And you are inspiring me to try making Blondies at home. We usually stick to brownies, but it is good to try a new tasty treat, right?
    Thanks,
    Erin

  8. Navya says:

    I’ve never had blondies before (I’m a die hard chocolate fan, but these look too good to pass up! As for Spring finally being here… I’ve never been so happy to get up early for school. Just seeing the sun shining out my window is a huge mood booster!

  9. Joyti says:

    Your blondies look rather perfect. Perfectly even/level squares, perfect golden color. Delicious!
    And the flowers are gorgeous too. I wish cherry blossoms were still in bloom…

  10. Mai says:

    Believe it or not I never had blondie before. They looks so divine and I bet they taste wonderful too. Btw, awesome photography!

  11. Patty H. says:

    The flowers are beautiful and the blondies look delicious! (Although, in reference to your Spring comment…we’re still waiting for the “more sun”)! I’ve never tried blondies before (to make or to eat), so I think I might give it a shot!

Leave a comment